The Maharaja Sayajirao University of Baroda, Vadodara

The Maharaja Sayajirao University of Baroda (MSU), was originally founded in the year 1881 as the “Baroda College”  is a State University established in the year 1949 as its present name. The University is approved by the UGC and state government of Gujarat. It is an English medium University is having 8 centres, 2 institutes, 3 colleges and 13 faculties. The faculty of law of MSU offers full-time undergraduate, postgraduate and postgraduate diploma courses. It is one of the few institutions offering the research in ancient Indian traditions.


The MSU is Bifurcated in 6 campuses (4 urban and 2 rural), having 89 departments and spread over in total 275 acres of land. The main campus is sited on the Kalabhawan in Pratapgunj in the western part of the Vadodara, Gujarat.

Students, Faculty & Staff:

The MSU has around 37500 students pursuing higher studies from all its departments under the guidance of around 1112 faculty members and 1190 non-teaching permanent staff.


The University has 16 hostels for boys & girls separately with a capacity of 4103 students and 475 residential houses for staff & faculty. The university is providing the opportunity of education from nursery to PhD. The university has a central library named “Smt. Hansa Mehta Library” with more than 8 Lakh books and journals and having a capacity of 1100 readers at a time. Beside these, the university provides all campus and academic facilities for its students and staff.


The MSU conducts 3 NCC units with 643 enrolled students and one NSS unit with 1020 enrolled students. The campus has formed a Woman Grievance Cell and Internal Quality Assurance Cell. The university organizes various co-curricular and extracurricular activities.


The MSU is offering the wide range of academic programmes. The University offers 88 UG courses, 98 PG courses, 39 PG diploma courses and 66 PhD programmes along with the 11 certificate and 3 post diploma certificate programmes. This university also offers MBA (Master in Business administration) programme. The main specializations of engineering and management courses are mentioned below:

Engineering Courses:

  • Architecture
  • Chemical Engineering
  • Civil Engineering
  • Computer Science Engineering
  • Electrical Engineering
  • Mechanical Engineering
  • Metallurgical and Materials Engineering
  • Textile Engineering

MBA Specializations:

  • Marketing
  • Finance
  • Human Resource

Law Courses:

UG Courses:

  • LL.M. (Hons.)
  • B.A.LL.B. (Hons.)

PG Courses:

  • LL.M.

PG Diploma Courses:

  • Taxation Practice
  • Labour Practice

Doctoral Courses:

  • PhD in law


The University provides the job placement for the students with 100% guidance and arranging the on campus & industrial training session, soft skill training, internship and career counselling. The campus has placed numerous students in various industries through its Placement Cell.

Back to top button